what is panchayati raj system, in points?

Hi Student,

The following is the answer to your question.

Local self government at village level consists of a three tiered structure. This includes the Gram panchayat, the Panchayat Samiti and the Zilla Parishad. The urban areas have their own municipal corporations.

The Gram Panchayat looks after administration and development at village level. It is an elected body with a sarpanch as its head. The members are elected by the Gram Sabha which comprises all adult members of the village.

The Panchayat Samiti is the body at block or taluka level. It is the link between the gram panchayat and district administration.

The Zilla Parishad is the local government body for rural administration at the district level. It is the uppermost layer of the Panchayati Raj system.

The functions of Panchayat bodies are as follows:

  • Implementing agricultural development
  • Supplying drinking water
  • Construction and maintenance of roads
  • Development of cottage industries and cooperative societies
  • Running schools in villages
  • Starting Primary Health Centers.


Hope this resolves your query.
Best Wishes

  • 52
What are you looking for?