How is president elected in india

There is no direct election for the Indian President. An electoral college elects him. The electoral college responsible for President’s elections comprises elected members of:
1.Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha
2.Legislative Assemblies of the states (Legislative Councils have no role)
3.Legislative Assemblies of the Union Territories of Delhi and Puducherry.
Who does not take part in the President’s elections?
The following group of people is not involved in electing the President of India:
-Nominated Members of Rajya Sabha (12)
-Nominated Members of State Legislative Assemblies
-Members of Legislative Councils (Both elected and nominated) in bicameral legislatures
-Nominated Members of union territories of Delhi and Puducherry.

  • 3
What are you looking for?